

## **MRCE orders 25 locomotives from Siemens**

2018/05/11 16:12 στην κατηγορία INTERNATIONAL

Mitsui Rail Capital Europe (MRCE), a full-service locomotive leasing company, has ordered a further 25 Vectron locomotives from Siemens.

Ten of these units will be multisystem Vectron locomotives, used for operating across Europe from the Netherlands to Southeast Europe, and will be delivered at the end of 2018.

Ten further Vectron MS locomotives are planned for service on the Rhine-Alps Corridor, and will be delivered in the second half of 2019.

Five additional units will be equipped as direct-current locomotives (Vectron DC) and are to operate exclusively in Italy. Delivery of these five is planned beginning in March 2019.

"The long-standing trust of MRCE underscores the quality and reliability of our locomotives. With this new order, the MRCE Vectron fleet will grow to a total of 136 locomotives. The flexibility of the Vectron platform enables our customers to profit from tailored solutions for cross-border transport," says Sabrina Soussan, CEO of the Mobility Division.

"We are glad to have concluded this additional order for 25 Vectron locomotives with Siemens. With this order we are further expanding our existing fleet for the North-South corridor and the Eastern European markets. This extended market coverage is allowing us to provide the best and most flexible services to our customers," says Junichi Kondo, CEO of MRCE.

The ordered multisystem locomotives have a maximum output of 6,400 kW and a top speed of 160 km/h, and the Vectron DC has an output of 5,200 kW. Both versions are equipped with national train control systems and the Vectron MS locomotives also have the European Train Control System (ETCS).

Since its introduction, Siemens has sold the Vectron over 700 times to 37 customers in 15 countries, and the fleet has accumulated over 110 million kilometers in service to date. The locomotives are currently authorized to operate in Austria, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Croatia, Finland, Germany, Hungary, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland and Turkey.